About SAC

The mandate and purpose of the Sooke Arts Council is

– to encourage creative participation in and excellence in the arts
– to encourage the development of opportunities to perform and exhibit the arts
– act as a clearing house for information on the arts
– to bring to the attention of local, regional, provincial and federal authorities the artistic needs of the community

The arts council embraces all forms of the arts: visual arts (painting, sculpture, fabric art, pottery, glass, photography etc); performing arts (theatre groups, choirs, orchestras, dance etc.) and any other forms of art which may present themselves.

Membership is encouraged from all walks of life. Not only are artists welcome but any member of the community who appreciates artistic endeavours and who can actively contribute to the arts community as a whole. Become a SCAC member and support the arts in your community. The boundaries of SCAC extend from Port Renfrew, Jordan River, Shirley, Otter Point, Sooke and East Sooke.

The Sooke Community Arts Council is a registered not for profit society funded by the BC Arts council and the District of Sooke.

Some History

The arts council was founded by an enthusiastic group of artists and non-artists and incorporated on October 10, 1987 at which time it was named South Coast Arts Council. After several years of operating under that name, it was felt that it did not reflect the council’s geographical location and/or boundaries so it was decided that the name would be changed to the Sooke Community Arts Council. Click here to view the original 1987 SCAC Constitution.

The boundaries of SCAC extend from Port Renfrew, Jordan River, Shirley, Otter Point, Sooke, East Sooke and part of Juan de Fuca, giving a population coverage of some 18,000 people.

The executive is made up of President, Vice President, Past President, Treasurer and Secretary. There can be up to 8 directors at large. The executive and board is voted in at the Annual General Meeting held yearly in September. The year end of the Society is August 31st.

Current Board – 2018/2019

President: Linda Gordon
Vice President: Tanya Darling
Treasurer: Frédérique Philip
Secretary:  Frédérique Philip

Directors at Large: 
Jenny Crandall
Deb Clay
Drake Dyck
Gary O’Connor
Megan Evans



The Sooke Arts Council gives assistance not only to member groups and individual members but to members of the community who seek funding for art related endeavours as is mandated by the BC Arts Council. Certain criteria as outlined on the Application Form must be met to be eligible.
Click here for the SAC  application form.